• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Kitty…and turkey brining

kittyWe have a new, albeit hopefully temporary addition to the family (anybody reading this want a new kitten???). Said kitten is at the moment trying to help me type. So, my neighbors moved about a week ago. Yesterday all day I heard this peeping sound…really more like a bird then a kitten…coming from the neighbors yard. Finally I saw him, mewing (peeping) plaintively at the door to the empty house. So of course I rescued him. I don’t get people. They had left a cat house for him, but come on. I guess out of sight out of mind? It just reminds me how very different people are. I think I would forever have a little hurt place in my heart if I had abandoned an animal.

Anyway, so here he is. My cats are freaked out. I think they think he is a monster. He is very loving….and very demanding (with insistent and constant peeps) for attention. I am trying to find him a home.

 Turkey Brining

Several people have asked me about this oh-so-wonderful turkey I cooked. Brining is a process of soaking the turkey in a salt and herb solution for 12-36 hours prior to cooking. I soaked it for about 36 – but I bet even 48 would be good!

Ingred:

2 cups kosher salt (I actually used sea salt, but most of the recipes I perused called for kosher)                                                                                                                                                  fresh herbs – I used several sprigs of thyme and rosemary 

one head of garlic – cut in half

one cup sugar (other recipes called for molasses or honey)

1tbs cayenne pepper (in retrospect I would probably use 2 or 3 )

turkey

Heat several cups of water to boiling and add all ingredients except turkey. before adding turkey, add remaining COLD water. Turkey needs to stay at about 40 degrees. If you have enough space and a big enough pot, you can keep it in the refridgerator. I used a large cooler and added ice about twice a day to keep it cool enough.

Well, as the kitty is making biscuits on my shoulder and demanding I stop, I suppose I shall for today.                                                                                                   

2 Responses

  1. I know what you mean about people who abandon pets. I think at one time when I was still in TN I had about 4 dogs. One was mine and the rest were ones I had rescued. What I really couldn’t understand about these particular dogs was that only one was a mutt! I bet quite a bit that the other two rescued dogs had pedigrees. Strange.
    Thanks for posting the info on brining turkeys. It had never occurred to me before to do that, but I bet it was great!

    Love ya!
    Karri

  2. Hey Sis. Gotta love the itty bitties. :). Well this kitty is being a blessing and has my couch potato kitties more active than they have been in forever!
    I definitely recommend the turkey brining. I loved it, and don’t usually get that excited about turkey.
    Love you!
    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

