• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Raton NM…here comes a travel nurse!

My New Temporary HomeI think I am in a state of shock…shock combined with eager anticipation and a healthy dose of fear….yikes! Yesterday, I accepted a position as a labor and delivery/med-surg nurse in Raton, NM. It is in the northeastern part of the state, and as you can see, not a very big place at all. I will be staying a couple of streets over  from the downtown strip (shown here) in a studio apartment that sounds pretty nice!

There is so much happening right now, and that has to happen in a very short time, that my head is spinning something fierce! Lets see…in two short weeks time I will be finishing up at my old job, finishing my master’s degree, temporarily moving half-way across the country and starting a new job. Hmm, not so much eh? So that is the reason I have been awake since 4am this morning. Too many things to think about! Plus I think it just really set in that I am going to be away from my husband for 3 months! I do think I am the most nervous about that.

Luckily, I have some really great support people that will just be a phone call away, so I know I will be okay….just nervous all the same. I am looking forward to meeting new people and hope for a town full of really friendly people with a great community feel. I think that this will be a great opportunity for expansion for me –  professionally, mentally, spiritually. I am grateful for this blog, and that I will have a place to ‘document’ my journey.

I have so much to do this week! It is times like these that make me so grateful to be a member of al-anon, because I know I have resources and I can handle this – and maybe even with some calm and grace! That Is my goal for the next week – to do what I can and not trying to do it all at once. I am sad that Raton doesn’t seem to have any al-anon meetings, but I know that I will be taken care of and supported.

Whew. These changes are exciting!

3 Responses

  1. CONGRATS!!!! I’m so happy for you! May this first step toward your goal be a wonderful and inspiring one! Good luck!

  2. Thanks Sis!! I am hoping for wonder and inspiration too! I was thinking, I will be delivering babies….dontcha wanna come up and let me deliver yours???
    Love you!

  3. Hmmm… Would love to have you near for the delivery, but it’s gonna be cold where your going! I am however glad that this one will be delivered by the same doctor that delivered Lily. I’ll miss you, but will try to have Evan post a picture as soon as possible so that you can see her!! Love you too!

Leave a Reply

