• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Reiki and GoodBye Kitty

dragon-earth.jpg  I am experiencing so many changes right now. It feels like I am in a very fast moving river – but the amazing part is that I am not struggling. I am flowing along and enjoying the ride. Every now and then I get a moment of desiring to struggle – to paddle upstream in this fierce current – but then I stop and relax, and I am flowing again. It really is a wonderful feeling. I cannot imagine embracing all these changes and activities one year ago.

Yesterday I received Reiki Level I certification. WOW. An absolutely amazing experience. I am naturally a very visual person, but imagine being able to see, really see energy with the minds eye and that energy at its most basic level during the certification process. I won’t go into great detail, but it was an amazing experience.

It is now common knowledge that we are all made up of energy in a world made up of energy and that we are constantly entering into energy exchange – from the most basic of levels – food for energy – to more complex exchanges of energy that come from interactions with people. I am sure that all of us have experienced feeling energy exchange first hand. My first thought for an example is how drained of energy I feel after walking around in a big mall – or how exhilirated and full of energy I feel when I am with a person who is vibrant and full of energy. Energy Exchange. So, with Reiki, I am learning to be a channel for that energy. We all have the ability to do so, the difference is, largely, conscious awareness. These concepts have been around a long time. From a nursing perspective,  Martha Rogers, a pioneer in nursing theory, wrote about this energy exchange in the 1950s with her Science of Unitary Human Beings theory – with its foundation in anthropology and mathematics. Rogerian theory talks about the human energy field and how it is in constant interaction with its environmental energy field..

But I am digressing, and I have to go to work. I may add more later. To sum up I will say that I am so exciting about entering this new realm of active energy work. There is so much more for me to learn, and so much I can accomplish.

 On another note, last night I gave away the kitty to a woman who seemed so excited and glad to have him. Hmm…part of me was very sad. I will miss his fun little presence. But another big part of me was glad that I could bring him to a good home where he can be loved.

Sometimes, when we let go of the reins, the most amazing possibilities arise… in both our life and the lives of others.

One Response

  1. Sounds very exciting for you! Just showing Travis your website and mine, so hopefully you can expect to hear from him too!

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

