• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

I think that reality is really setting in. I am really still pretty excited. The note of hesitation in that sentence arises from the fact that there are winter storms sweeping the area to which we are heading in two days. Fortunately, it does look like that is going to pass soon and we will have clear sailing. The OB manager I will be working for told me a scary story about being stuck on the mountain on the way to Raton last Sat and having to turn around…. little scared about snow. But I am trying to think of this as an adventure.

You know, it is interesting how easily that little thread, that old pattern, of creating chaos will want to creep back into my life when I am experiencing stress. I have seen it arise, but luckily haven’t jumped on board the chaos mobile (at least not for very long anyway). It is interesting, that tendency to create chaos, to get frazzled or agitated or frustrated – creating crisis where it isn’t necessary, isn’t helpful, and is just plain silly when it comes down to it. Especially when it is about things over which I have no control anyway. “Don’t sweat the small stuff” as some wise person once said. I actually haven’t read that book, but I think it might be a good idea because, after all, it really is all small stuff.

Leave a Reply

