• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Quilting- a dying art? and Pictures

imgp2876.jpgimgp2847.jpgimgp2879.jpgimgp2852.jpgimgp2877.jpgI wonder about all of the wonderful arts that were such an part of my grandmother’s generation and no longer a part of my own – except as an eccentricity, an art to learn, not a way of life as it was back then. This Monday my aunt and I “tied” a quilt top that my grandmother made. She died in 1982, so the quilt top is at least 30 years old. My aunt says that she started on the quilt tops in the 1970s and made enough (plus lots of extra) so that all of her grandchildren could have one. I feel privileged to have been able to be a part of the completion of this one, as I also was of the first one I received. What a fun project, picking out the fabric for the back, and the sewing and pinning and tying to reveal a beautiful completed quilt. I look at how the quilt top is put together – each piece precisely cut and sewn, and though there are dozens of different fabrics, there is a symmetry and belonging of each piece. When I think of the work and thought that went into the making of that quilt top, I am awed and I want to take this space to honor my grandmother. Even though I only have a vague memory of her combing my hair (memorable because I have tangly hair and am tender headed – ouch!), I know through this quilt the love she felt for me and for all her grandchildren.

So here are a few pictures of the quilt – front and back, plus the pillowcases that I made – which I have never done before either! And, in honor of grandparents, I am also posting a picture of myself with my other set and a picture of the farm and the Organ Mountains that I spoke of in a previous post. Lastly, a picture of snow-capped mountains just because.

One Response

  1. What a wonderful statement on your quilt making experience. Good pictures also.
    POPPA

Leave a Reply

