• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Work and more Work

 The upcoming month is one of much work for me. It is good in a way, as I think it will make the month go by faster – closing the gap until I can be back with my hubby, and not so good in another way, as sometimes the nights are really long and rather unstimulating. I think that I have reached the point where the novelty is gone, so I guess it is time for me to change perspective. I am very grateful for this time, as I am having time to work on Step 11, and I am enjoying the time for instrospection.

While I am enjoying being in Labor and Delivery again, I am aware that this isn’t something I want to do long term, and yet I am not sure exactly what I want to do long term. I have this ideal of wanting to open my own practice, or go into practice with another holistic practitioner (the latter being more likely), but I am not sure right now how to go about doing that, or even if that is the next step. I have been looking into jobs again and nothing in particular is striking my bell. Well, many positions look interesting, but I don’t see myself doing any of them long term….except that is, for maybe teaching. I have applied for an adjunct faculty position at Belmont University. I am excited and nervous about the prospect. I feel confident that I can do it, and think I will find it challenging and stimulating – but it will be a big change, that is, if I am even considered for the position. Ah well, wait and see. But I think it might be night to step into another realm of nursing for a while.

Enough for now. One thing I am sure about, is that I would really like to go back to a daytime position. This night flopping is not as fun as it used to be 🙂 This said at 5am having been up since 1am on my night off. hehe!!

Leave a Reply

