• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Fab Hair and general update on me

I thought I had posted this last Sat, but turns out I had only saved it as a draft. So here tis late.: 

I love hair. That is…I love hair when it is cut great and looks fabulous. Simple pleasures make for happy Jennifer. I went to a great place in downtown Albuquerque to get my hair cut yesterday. Not only did I love the space – lofty, modern, very fab – but I really liked the stylist and the cut is wunderful!

I am here in Albuquerque visiting with my pop and aunt. Once again drove through the snow on no sleep. This time I didn’t check the weather before I headed out. I think that this is a pattern that I am going to have to break, because I scared myself a bit! Worked so much lately that I am pretty pooped. Not just hours worked either, but they have been that busy frantic don’t stop for 12 hours kind of busy that wears me out. And typically after those kind of nights, I don’t sleep as well when I get home (which seems backwards I know).  I don’t know what it is about working nights for me now that I seem to have a hard time sleeping in greater than four hour intervals when I am off. So here it is 2am and I am up. I was so exhausted last night that I went to bed by 9 and was asleep before I could snuggle in the covers – and was awake at 1am. Ah… So thought I would ramble a bit, and get a few more hours before we head for the flea market tomorrow. This is going to just be a fun weekend for me. Tomorrow in addition to the flea market I am also getting a massage and then we are going to a mystery theater….very fun. I am hoping to also get to an al-anon meeting while I am here – I miss those.

Good stuff!

I had a thought yesterday about a shift in perception that I have had over the last year or so. It kind of snuck up on me and I wasn’t consciously aware of it until yesterday (wait that is day before yesterday now) when I was driving here. I had received a phone call from my big brother, well a few phones calls or messages at different times during this venture of mine, where he expressed some concern related to my welfare – brotherly protectiveness. I really appreciated it, made me feel kind of warm and fuzzy to know that I am cared about – even if I don’t NEED the protectiveness or concern – it felt good to know that my brother loves me and is concerned about me. I think maybe it is a man thing – my husband does that too, and so does my dad. The shift in perception comes from the way I feel about it. When this used to happen, instead of feeling loved, I felt defensive. I am reminded how my brother would offer to “beat up” whoever was causing me distress in some of his protective gestures or offers of care. I didn’t see it as expressions of love then; in my defensiveness the message I received was that I wasn’t doing what I was supposed to be doing, or that I was being judged as not being able to take care of myself. Hmm – I believe now that my perception then came from my own judgment of myself and not any intended slight on the part of my brother.

My dear husband send me a sweet note with a quote by G. Sand “There is only one happiness in life, to love and be loved”. There was a time when I would have viewed that remark as so much hogwash….but now I see that there is a lot of truth in that. I am so grateful for the love of the men in my life: my husband, my brother, my dad. I hope they know how much they are loved as well.

Leave a Reply

