• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Yay for Comebacks

tinykida3.jpgRadiohead’s CD ‘The Bends’ got me through some rough times in my life. It is one of the few albums that, after ten years, I can still listen to without getting tired. I still love to occassionally belt out “baby’s got the bends!…oh no!” – okay, so its hard to convey the drama of the song in typing.

Anyhow, ‘Ok Computer’ was the next album, and it was pretty darn great too. Then I don’t know what happened. Either Radiohead ran out of ideas or was trying too hard to produce. You see this happen alot – have a really fantastic band, the first few albums are great, and then something just happens. Is it sell-out? Is it pressures of the music industry? I don’t know, I am not a music critic, I just know what I like. To leap genres a bit, a  prime example of this is Gwen Stefani – she went from fab rock girl in the 90’s with No Doubt to a Pop Diva to rival all the other slutty typical pop divas. You could practically get them out of a can. I tend to be devoted to certain bands, and Radiohead was one of those. Not for sure what happened to them, except that later albums were grating, too attempting to be techno, and just too much for this gal (I tried hard to like them, I really did).

Hallelujah! a reason to be devoted again. Radiohead’s new CD ‘In Rainbows’ is back to par with ‘The Bends’ with dramatic heart-wrenching melodies that just scream to be cranked up to top volume in the car and sung along at the top of your lungs. (I would attempt that in my apartment, but I still do have a few more weeks to stay here).  Now that is my kind of music. Their blog is pretty fantastic too – I am adding to my blogroll if you wanna check it out.

Leave a Reply

