• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

So This is It

My last few moments in Raton, NM. The final bags are waiting to go downstairs, and as soon as I pack this laptop I will close the door on this chapter of my life. I am eager to go home: to be with my husband, reconnect with friends, see family and my kitties! Yet there is a certain poignancy as I look around at this apartment that once again looks as it did when I first entered – not quite mine. I look out my window to this amazing vista – and that is actually what I will miss the most. I have met some wonderful people and had fantastic experiences while I was here. And I think that I have experienced some inner growth myself – a kind of confidence that can only come from putting knowledge and skills to the test – not only my knowledge as a nurse, but also inner knowing of ‘okay-ness’ as I faced challenges that presented themselves to me while I was here.

No Raton is not the place for me long term, but it has been a good stay and I, for one, took the “road less traveled by, and that has made all the difference”.

Leave a Reply

