• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Balance

It is quite appropriate that I have herons that visit my back yard (yes they do still visit regularly, and I also have a little bunny that has taken up residence, but that is another story). Herons represent balance, and balance is something that I consistently have to remind myself of. Oh yeah, I am out of balance – financially, spiritually, socially, physically, whatever. Lately I have been out of balance in several areas. To express it most succintly, I feel I have been suffering from brain clutter that has been overflowing into my living spaces. My house has been cluttered and junky – and I haven’t been able to get a handle on it, or rather feel motivated enough to get that handle. My new beds are filling with weeds and I haven’t been able to get that under control either, although I have been trying.

Herons also symbolism divine wisdom and inner quietness as well as being a symbol of water signifying going with the flow, and working with the elements of Mother nature rather than struggling against her.  So I have definitely been having a bit of difficulty experiencing inner quietude and my thoughts have been running wild in 50 different directions at a time.

So today, I chose to listen to my inner wisdom. Yesterday I did a bit of decluttering by having a yard sale and taking the remains to Goodwill. That process somehow seemed to clutter up the house more – so today I did a major cleaning. Well, I got quite a bit done anyway and started on some big projects that I want to accomplish to clean up my living space, little rearranging.

I also spent sometime preparing the next few days worth of healthy and wholesome food. I have lapsed into eating out alot again the past few weeks and somehow have gotten into the habit of having one large meal a day. Not really very good for optimal functioning. So I am listening to my divine wisdom and providing my body with the foods that make me feel good.

 

Yay. Now if my literary inspiration will continue, perhaps I will have more to say soon.

Leave a Reply

