• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Presence

I want to be fully present in my life. Thats not too big a goal, I say to myself on the surface. But on further inspection of my life, I see how very often I am not present – I am focused on future events or occassionally dwelling in past occurances. I had a pretty emotionally demanding week this past week, and I found myself counting the hours until the shifts end, counting the days until my next day off, and counting the weeks until I start teaching in the fall. Hmmm, not very present. So how do I find presence in my present moment – the only moment I truly have, on a consistent basis. Yes, I need to make plans for the future. Yes, sometimes a review of past events is helpful for me to learn – but to do these things without losing myself in them and forgetting where I am. To allow myself to feel and be exactly where I am in the moment in time that I find myself in – which is and always will be the present one. To not get caught up in society’s hurry to always be in the next place doing the next thing so that I completely miss out on the present one. I think that part of the difficulty is practicing presence even during experiences that are uncomfortable, emotional or even painful.  My ego wants me to run from those places, to be somewhere else, think of sometime else and separate myself from myself – because the only place I ever am is in the present. This almost seems paradoxical to me, but the reality of it begins to sink in.

I started a book club in April and we are reading Eckert Tolle’s book ‘The Power of Now’, and while some of the concepts make my head spin, and some I don’t feel at peace with completely, ultimately what I am taking away from this book is the practice of presence. This morning I awakened after a long deep and much needed sleep, and I felt my surroundings, my place, and the joy of being where I am today. And right now is a good place to be.

Leave a Reply

