• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

My Journey Begins

Or rather, it is getting to be well underway. I am speaking of my teaching journey of course. While I am yet to receive compensation, I have been toiling away at the preparation of lectures and assignments. Less than a month before I begin lecturing to students. I was given the lectures (meaning powerpoint slides) of the prior psych instructor – to give me a little breathing room and make things less hard on me this first semester. I am very grateful for that, because it gives me guidelines and general ideas. I thought I could mostly use her lectures, but I am finding that not to be the case, and I am essentially redoing everything. Which is okay, just time consuming. It is interesting to see how very different, and then in some ways similar, our approaches and ideas are. For example, I will be teaching a good bit of theory, and the prior instructor emphasized Freud. While I do agree that basic knowledge of Freud is foundational, I don’t think nursing students need an in depth understanding of his theory – because it is difficult to relate to nursing practice, and I personally think that the poor old boy had serious issues with women, his mother most of all. Erik Erikson now, is another story. While the prior instructor barely mentioned him, I think his work is essential knowledge for the health care practitioner, and other than nursing theories, is the one psychodynamic theory that I use and refer to most in my career; well I use Maslow too, but that is another category.

I am most excited to be teaching some nursing theory. Education and application of nursing theory was quite scant in my ADN program, and I think is largely one of the major rifts between ADN and higher nursing education. So far, I will be teaching HIldegard Peplau’s Interpersonal Relations Theory, while not one of my favorites (see sidebar) it is certainly a wonderful theory and very applicable to psychiatric nursing practice. What I really like about her theory is how she defines specific roles for the nurse and client relationship and then relates theory of personality development directly to nursing care. While theorists like Freud, Erikson & Sullivan provides us with stages us personality developement and tasks to be accomplished in order for healthy personality development – they don’t really tell us what to do or how to help the person resolve past unresolved stages to move toward greater health in the present & future. Peplau’s theory does just that. Her theory is one I have paid only nominal attention to in the past. I am looking forward to working and applying this theory in more depth.

Woohoo! I am off to Lynchburg for computer training. Onward Journey!

2 Responses

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

  2. Thanks Alex! I am so behind that I just got around to reading your reply. I hope to have more interesting information to share with you!

Leave a Reply

