• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

The Teacher is settling in.

I have had so much to talk about (and still do) that I have nothing to say. I get that way sometimes, so much going through my head that I can’t sort it out into anything specific to blog about. But oh well, here is my best effort. Perhaps it won’t be so intellectually engaging, but it is at least an update on me.

I have been working ALOT! 60-70 hours per week for the last 3 weeks. Hubby thinks more, as I have been working at home too. Whew. But my hope is that is going to change next week and in the weeks to come, that I will begin to work some normal hours!

But it has been good preparation. This past week I lectured every day, and I enjoyed it! I talked until my little voice was hoarse. I mean seriously, considering that I talked for 2-3 hours every day. But the good news is that because of the way the nursing program works, and shared lecturing, my lecturing is over for the semester. Yay! Now I can prepare for the clinical setting which is where the bulk of my time will be spent teaching for the rest of the semester.

I am rather proud of myself. I could not have imagine a few years ago that I would be able to stand in front of 75 people and speak intelligiently for hours without experiencing intense anxiety. The biggest challenge was the iTV system over which I am broadcasting. I have 25 students in front of me and then the remainder are spread between 2 other campuses. It is a really neat system, very interactive – they can see and hear me and I can see and hear them just as if they were really in front of me. But it takes some practice attending to the screens, the camera, my content and the students in front of me. But I survived! Woohoo!

Now this week I will be taking students to orient at the psychiatric hospital in Nashville where I will be with them in the upcoming months for their clinical experience. I think I am a little more nervous about this than lecturing. It is a new environment for me as well as for them, and i have a lot of coordinating to do among a lot of different units and I have to figure my way around. But, everyone keeps telling me that clinical is the most enjoyable part. Just getting the hang of things.

One good week of student contact under my belt! I have successfully completed lecture and even survived my first student complaint (also successfully resolved), and I think successfully imparted information to students in a way that was interesting and engaging.

No wonder I have been practically comatose this weekend…..

Leave a Reply

