• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

PeaceJam – Change Starts Here

We Speak As One – the title of this video. You can read more about it at the Peace Jam website at http://www.peacejam.org
I think this is appropriate near the anniversary of 9/11. I have been watching a lot of the presidential campaigning – on both sides, and I am frightened when I hear the Republicans speak – and hopeful when I hear the Democrats speak. This video, while not about our presidential campaign, speaks to hope. This weekend I heard a story from where I can’t remember as this has been quite a busy weekend – but essentially it was this: a young woman, in the aftermath of the death of a loved one in war, beseeched God, asking how to stop the violence, how to stop the hate, how to stop the deaths. She heard in reply “become pregnant with peace”. There was more to the story, but this image blossomed in my mind…pregant with peace – and giving birth to peace. Something that can happen one person at a time and that has the potential to multiply by wildfire. That is why I have so much respect for organizations like Peace Jam and The Peace Alliance and the many others out there who have become pregnant with peace and are multiplying that peace into the world.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about "PeaceJam – Change Starts Here", posted with vodpod

Leave a Reply

