• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Sarah Palin Scares Me

Yes, its true. She scares me the way George Bush scares me. Sure, she is a great cheerleader: ‘rah, rah, rah’, ‘we are great’, “I am ready”, “Drill Baby Drill”. But I have yet to hear anything of substance from her except in areas of drilling, her “thanks but no thanks” to Congress on The Bridge to Nowhere (which is not really accurate: flip-flop), and her stance on polar bears. I have heard Lots of cheering. Even when asked a direct question, I see her sidling around it with such enthusiam that if you aren’t careful, you could easily think that she answered the question. But she didn’t. A great example is at her first “town hall” meeting (which was pre-tickected – how is that ‘town hall’?) where she offered to play “Stump the candidate” concerning her readiness to answer specific questions about how she would deal with foreign policy. But yet she didn’t actually give the chance for questions to be asked. Tricky lady. (read more here: http://blogs.wsj.com/washwire/2008/09/17/palin-on-foreign-policy-ready-by-jan-20/ )

Being a psychiatric nurse, I am very familiar with dissemblers. In my field you become experienced in the cues that alert you to when someone is lying to you. My ‘liar detector’ goes off like mad whenever I hear her speak. Not in all parts of her speeches mind you, but enough to scare me that this lady could actually become VP and even President. Yowser.

John McCain doesn’t scare me. Aside from the fact that I don’t agree with a lot of his policies, he generally seems like a ‘good’ man who believes in what he is doing. (Sure, I don’t like the dirty politics, but that is just the way it goes). Do I think that he will be a good president…because of his political stances and refusal to firmly commit his stance in many areas….NO.

I was a Hilary woman to start with. Wasn’t too sure about Obama. That is, until Hilary lost and I had to really start looking at Obama’s ticket. The more I read, the more I hear him speak, I think I was initially for the wrong Democratic candidate. This man has got it together and I think will be really great for our country.

When Palin came on the scene, I thought: ‘I have got to give this woman a chance’. Considering that I am a self-proclaimed feminist, and considering that I may make more than one mistake in my life (gasp!), I looked forward to hearing what she had to say and supporting another woman  (although I must admit, after reading up on Obama it would have taken a lot of convincing). Not only was I extremely disappointed the more I heard from her, I am also scared. Not in a good way from her self-portrayal as a “pit bull with lipstick” but because she doesn’t seem prepared (despite her repeated statements that she is “ready” – she has said nothing that I have heard to support that statement), “ready”, experienced or even qualified.

Nother example: Palin, in defense of her qualification/understanding of energy issues, claims Alaska “produces nearly 20 percent of the U.S. domestic supply of energy.” That’s not true. Alaska did produce 14 percent of all the oil from U.S. wells last year, but that’s a far cry from all the “energy” produced in the U.S. Alaska’s share of domestic energy production was 3.5 percent, according to the official figures kept by the U.S. Energy Information Administration. And if by “supply” Palin meant all the energy consumed in the U.S., and not just produced here, then Alaska’s production accounted for only 2.4 percent. (quoted from  http://www.factcheck.org/elections-2008/energetically_wrong.html )

There was a time when I didn’t have political beliefs of my own, when I wasn’t knowledgeable enough about the issues, and I didn’t take the time to learn about the issues. This was partially due to youth (yes, an excuse) and out of fear of looking stupid because I didn’t have any opinion or stance (and plus, ‘good’ Americans are supposed to vote [I still believe in voting, but for different reasons and that is another subject entirely]). So to my shame, I used to spout the beliefs of others, particularly my father, without any real understanding. I even voted once (…maybe more than once) for someone because pop told me to, and not because I knew anything about the candidate. Makes me cringe to think what I may have voted for.

But those days are no more. Now I want to be one of those well-informed voters who doesn’t just back a candidate because of party, looks, etc., but because I support what he/she supports. This means a lot of reading/watching on both sides of the campaign trail. And not just learning about the other candidate through the filter of the candidate/camp that I like the most. Lots of junk crap has been flowing through my email these days…and the facts just don’t check out most of the time. Lots of mis-information out there. So, I want to know the facts – about both candidates and their stances on the issues. Therefore my plan is to spend a bit of time blogging here and there about the issues and both candidates views of them and my responses.

Should be interesting.

4 Responses

  1. Great post. I will read your posts frequently. Added you to the RSS reader.

  2. We think somewhat alike…I wrote a similar “Palin Scares Me” blog a couple of weeks ago on another site, except my fears set in a bit earlier. I wasn’t ready to jump on the Hilary wagon too fast just because she’s a woman, so I held back here too as well, and thank God for that.
    Women are waking up. I just hope it’s quickly enough.
    The right person for the job is what we need to be objective about, not anti-“whacked out Republicans versus stupid Democrats” as some many are quick to call each other not caring a bit how extremely immature and ill-informed they are behaving, or black versus white, or man versus woman. One of these days, if we don’t destroy the Earth before it happens, we’ll all look back and cringe at all the name calling that happens over and over and over again and get back to real intelligent deductive reasoning, making decisions accordingly while respecting differences at the same time. Sounds like a peaceful dream.

  3. She scares the heck out of me. She either won’t or can’t answer the most basic questions about policy or her perforamance as governor:
    http://www.bofads.blogspot.com/2008/09/palin-lashes-out-against-politicizing.html

  4. Do you think that Presidential Campaigning is exceptionally dirty this year? Or does it only looks so, because everything is happening now, because everything is so fresh?
    Or maybe it should be so – the one who is smarter and dirtier, is a winner? And after elections we just should forget all false accusations, lies and smearing? http://www.votetheday.com/polls/dirty-campaigning–281
    Looks like this year we are able to choose our candidate not only by his policies, but by thinking, is he a lesser lier. So, voters, defend your choice – who is competing honorably, and who is a bigger lier – Obama or McCain? http://www.votetheday.com/polls/presidential-candidates-bigger-lier-282

Leave a Reply

