• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Gratitude and Hope

This morning I woke up, got my coffee and engaged in my morning routine of sitting on my front porch swing with my kitties (they avidly stare and smell out the screen door) where I meditate and read for a few minutes. Gratitude is what came to my mind and heart this morning. Such a crisp autumn day (required a blanket to be out on the swing) and I thought of all the abundance in my life, and all the things I have to be grateful for. A little song we used to sing in church came to my mind “count your many blessings”, but its funny, when I used to sing that song, I used to feel like I was supposed to be grateful, when I wasn’t and that generated a lot of shame in me. Today, the feeling is very different. I don’t have to be grateful because I am supposed to as a good little Christian girl. I feel grateful because I am blessed, because I feel the presence of my Higher Power in my life, and her love for me.

This is also very different from the way I had been feeling for the last several weeks. Fear has been the predominant feeling. Fear of economic instability, fear of not having enough, not being enough, not enough, not enough, not enough. Fear that is my favored candidate doesn’t win that the US is going down the tubes. Fear of war, fear of hate, just fear bouncing all over the place.

Speaking with friends, colleagues and my brother, I discover that many others are feeling this way too. The media is cultivating it, and I was swept up in the frenzy. I, like many I have spoken with, had to take a step back from the world of the news for a while, and I have found that my level of serenity has increased, while my fear has drastically decreased. Taken its place is this feeling of gratitude. While I was thinking of all this today, a poem by Emily Dickinson kept floating around in my mind:

Hope     

Hope is the thing with feathers
That perches in the soul,
And sings the tune–without the words,
And never stops at all,

And sweetest in the gale is heard;
And sore must be the storm
That could abash the little bird
That kept so many warm.

I’ve heard it in the chillest land,
And on the strangest sea;
Yet, never, in extremity,
It asked a crumb of me.

I do feel hope today. In an aside, I visited the Democratic HQ here in Nashville this weekend, and was able to do so with a feeling of hope for the future. It was a very good feeling.

2 Responses

  1. Something that has really helped me with all this political generating fear that is going in our media, is what I heard Rev. Bonnie Rice say, “Remember that politics is a Divine Idea in a Divine Mind.”
    that concept really blows my mind.
    Lot of Love
    Mom

  2. Thanks Mom! That is something to wrap my mind around….especially whenever I hear Sarah Palin speak! (she makes me want to run screaming from the room!)

Leave a Reply

