• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Theory In Practice

Rosemary Parse’s theory of Human Becoming is the one nursing theory that psychiatric nursing at this community college teaches. I feel lucky that they get much theory at all, as in the ADN program I went to, there was very very little theory at all. Today, theory forms much of the basis of my practice. My favorite theorist, whose theory I work most into my practice is Jean Watson. Her tenets of the caring moment, and the carative factors I see at play in my practice all the time. This is even true now that my practice has changed, and my interactions with patients are very little. Now, my “patients” are my students. While the form of interaction is a bit different, the caring moment is still there. They still need my care, my unconditional positive regard, and for me to be present in the moment when teaching them. I am learning that, just as with patients, each student is different and approaches the information I am trying to teach differently, and that each student needs a little something different from me. This is challenging when I see DIFFERENT student at every single clinical. I have 72 students, and they rotate through psych with me only once. Which means i am in the hospital with 4-5 students, brand new each time, two days a week. It also means that the content that I am teaching is pretty much the same every day – and yet because of the different student mix, each day is very different.

Ah, I started this post with the intention of talking a bit about how interesting it is applying and teaching students to apply Rosemary Parse’s Theory of Human Becoming in practice.

I veered, and now am out of time for this morning.

Hopefully I will pick up on that thought again later.

Leave a Reply

