• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Hello Spring!

As I write this, I am sitting on my screened in front porch reveling in a beautifully sunny spring day. I feel like a lumbering bear aching to shake off the lethargy of winter and leap into the brilliance of this day. Wait..that fog I feel might have something to do with the antihistamines I have been taking all weekend due to a severe allergic reaction…, whatever. But there is something to be said for the current of energy that draws me up and out, an energy that has lain dormant and is now so eager to burst forth and bring life and color to a world that has been draped in the sullen grays of winter. My kitties sit with me on the porch,  and we all lift our noses to the air to breathe in the redolence of spring air.  I feel my spirit awaken with the renewal that comes in the spring. Energy that is vibrant and palpable and urges me to get my hands and feet in the dirt (which I plan to do very shortly). The birds in my yard are just as excited as I am…robins gossiping and quarreling over this and that tidbit of nesting material, chickdees chirping happily and even a brilliant cardinal graces the branches of a nearby tree and sings to the glory of spring.  Ah, there is my friend the woodpecker eagerly assessing the tree in front of me for tasty morsels coming out of hiding to the freshness of this day.

I can’t help but wonder if any of them miss their old friends…the two great silver maples that once graced my yard. They are with us no more, as we chose to have them cut down a few months ago rather than risk having a smashed house due to their brittleness and age. I certainly will miss them, but am grateful too for change, for the sunlight that now dapples the yard where once was only shade. The trees are still with us in the form of wood chips that now mulch my yard. And though the birds cannot rest in their boughs, perhaps it will create and environment of flowers and resting places for worms that will be almost as satisfactory.

Back to this beautiful day! How the blossoms have sprung up overnight! Yellow, white and pink and the new new green of tender leaves. My yard is carpeted with tiny twinkling blue and purple flowers and dark green clusters of wild onions. This simplicity and stability of the changes spring brings truly makes me happy and grateful for the abundance of mother earth. It is times like these that I feel the most connected, the most loved and the most connected with goddess.

Leave a Reply

