• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

DMB pisses me the hell off

SO first you must understand that this is a love hate relationship. When Satellite first came out I was hooked. Serious Dave fan. Engaged in Dave worship. Listened to Dave every day. Even bought Boyd Tinsley’s CD when it came out (even though it kinda sucked). Could NOT miss a concert – unthinkable. The music really helped to shape my early twenties. Still love the music and listen occassionally (because it is some of the best music ever in my opinion)… But the tendrils of disgruntlement that were planted in the early 2000’s have become firmly entrenched because, as much as I don’t want to believe it (please Dave, prove me wrong), I think DMB has been bilking the fans.

Case in point: Live CDs. And don’t even get me started on EP’s. Those tricky little cds full of old songs with just one new song to tease you into buying. Cause you gotta hear the new song you know.  I bought the first live CD in ’99 – a two disc set that did absolutely rock.  Had some great renditions of songs, man I loved that CD. But now, since 2005 he has put out 12 or more Live CD’s. I don’t know the total number of Live CDs they have put out since the nineties, but it has to be over 30. Live at the Gorge, Live at Piedmont Park. LiveTrak 1-infinity. Crap I tell you. QUit ripping people out of their money with all these live-crap CD’s. I mean, a couple of LIve recordings is great..but DMB is seriously taking it too far.  This April will mark the 3rd year I haven’t seen Dave in concert. Makes me a little sad.  Won’t go..won’t do it. I heard a rumor that a new CD is coming out this year. I sure as hell hope so. I hate to feel this way about a band that I have believed was the best…ever. get me back to a concert. I need some serious re-wooing Dave.

Leave a Reply

