• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

springy soft grass

When I was growing up, I loved the fall. Fall meant new clothes for school, going back to school, big leaf piles to jump in and Halloween candy. The smell of fallen leaves in Autumn is still one of my very favoritist smells.

As I have grown older, Fall has begun to mean to be a time of dread to me. It means that it will soon be cold and dark, that the days will be shorter and that I will inevitably face the constant struggle of fighting off depression and apathy that comes for me with staying indoors and decreased sun.

grass

So spring! Spring is truly the season that I get excited about in my agedness. Smells that weren’t that relevant to me in my childhood are now so engaging and inspiring. I love the new new soft green of spring. and there is nothing like the softness of freshly grown unmown grass. In my early 20’s when I was living in an apartment, I would ask my dad to till a patch of ground for me and then I would drive 2 hours just to walk barefoot in the newly tilled grass. aaaaahhh. Now I do that myself. Something very symbolic about kicking off the shoes and running my toes through soft earth, skipping through the soft grass of spring, and reveling in the colors of tiny wild flowers (that I will not call weeds) that blanket my yard. I absolutely adore the grass this time of year…it is one of the softest things on earth, and it is only here for such a short period of time. I make it a point to walk just a little – even if it is chilly – outside in my barefeet everyday. blissful sigh. I feel such Joy that the days are getting longer, that even though like today, many days are cloudy, the promise of sun is there.

Gosh, it doesn’t take much to make me happy.

Leave a Reply

