• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

all a lie

You may or may not have noticed that my current reading list has not changed in a while. It mocks me, and today, as days previous, I feel too lazy to do anything to change it.  I should call those my “books I want to read, feel like I should read, but can’t manage to read”.  Well, I have almost finished the Sufi book….there are a few more poems at the end that I need to read to wrap it up. I have read bits of all those books. Bits here and there….but it has been a bit since I have read anything in any of them except the aforemention. Generally I am feeling very uninspired. very un-intellectual. very un-seeking. or maybe very un-thinking. I don’t want to think big thoughts  (sometimes I do, like the times when I feel like reading the types of books in my list, which actually is more often that not, but just not now….rambling again)  Instead I want to immerse myself in frivolous reading, reading where I don’t have to think. and that is what I have done as of late. And of all things – in fantasy fiction. There I said it. Its not a surprise, I just don’t say it or add those books to my list. Not grown up enough or something. And I am always reading a novel of some sort (fantasy 7/10) along with whatever other things I am reading. For some odd reason, that I haven’t quite fully figured out yet, I feel some shame about saying that I love a good fantasy fiction. Sometimes I learn something, sometimes I don’t. But they always feel good. Comforting and reassuring like a good ole blankie. I get swept up in the heroism, the gallantry, the epic deeds. Generally, I get swept up in the fantasy. That is what I love about them so much. Nothing like a good Aurthurian tale full of gallant knights, evil sorcerers…ahem. I am realizing why I hate to say I love fantasy fiction. Even to me, I begin to sound a bit like a silly dungeons and dragon playing nerd. Well I don’t play D&D, never have….well tried once for about 1o minutes and thought it was all kind of silly….but I digress…ah, yes. Truly, I think sometimes I just like to escape reality in a good story. I can do it just as easily in a good historical novel. I have one of those awaiting me called “Ceasar’s Women”. Colleen McCullough. Should be good.  I don’t much care for books about “real” life, current life, current times. I figure I get enough of that every day.

So my secret is out. My current reading list is (and has been for about 4 months) a lie.

and for a true current list: I am reading Maelstrom by Anne McCaffrey (the author who first introduced me to fantasy)

Leave a Reply

