• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

inspiration strikes

Inspiration and creativity seems to hit me in great spurts, which is great, but unfortunately there are often long pauses where I feel uninspired, apathetic, and generally dull. Also, when I am “struck”, I am often struck by multiple ideas – too many too get down at one time and/or I get so lost in tangents (as evidenced by some of my posts) that I lose the original thought to begin with. OR, and I love this, things come to me that I MUST write about while I am driving down the road, or in the grocery, etc. I have thought about using my phones recorder to save my thoughts, then transcribe later…but that makes me tired.

These creative bursts are not just limited to writing, it also pertains to other things…crochet, drawing, some great collages I have done in the past, and most recently – making jewelry. I have a booth in a local festival in a few weeks and I will be selling my jewelry for the first time. Talk about enough anxiety to make the aristic block loom! Thing is, two weeks ago when I decided to do this, I had not yet made any jewelry to sell. Which means my fingers need to do some fast moving! Up until yesterday, I had made a few pieces here and there…but everything seemed to take sooo long. Then yesterday, my creativity was at a peak and I busted out several beautiful pieces, more than I have done in the past few weeks combine…now to pray the creativity lasts.

See now, my intention when I sat down at this computer was to write about my novice attempts at gardening, my battle with weeds & the big decision of whether or not to sell the house (which believe it or not ties into the gardening because a big part of me wants to sell this summer, but if we do I will not get to reap the bounty of my gardening efforts). sigh.

I also wanted to write about this great idea I had for an article that I need to write (for a scholarly publication…part of my professional goals for myself this year. For some reason I thought that was a good idea when I was submitting my yearly evaluation). It was about working with borderline personality disorder and application of Jean Watson’s caring theory. Something I can implement this summer and then write about my experiences. I still need to jot down my thoughts about that somewhere. I think its a grand idea.

But alas (alas is a darn good word by the way), alas my time is once again done and I am once again procrastinating going to work.

On a ‘final’  excellent note…Finals are today. It is kinda cool to be the one giving the Final Exam and not the one taking it. yes I now that makes me sound kind of dorky. that is what is so loveable about me.

Leave a Reply

