• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Leisurely Mornings

As I have spoken of before, I am a *new* instructor of nursing. One of the perks is getting the summers off. I am feeling a bit nostalgic thinking about the joys this summer has brought me, and also a little bit of hmmm.,, not really panic but sadness I suppose that it is soon to come to an end. While I still have a few weeks until I have to be back in the office all the time, I do need to start working on lectures etc for the fall now. I want to really enjoy these last few weeks to the fullest. So while I will put in a few hours of work here and there, I want to experience the rest of the time fully.

Now, I haven’t completely been of this summer, because I have worked some at the hospital…but that job doesn’t require a lot of effort, or even a lot of thought when you are just doing it prn.

So for the next few weeks, I am going to strive to really be present in each day. Tomorrow (and the inevitable beginning of school) will happen when it happens.

Today I am really aware of how much I enjoy mornings. Leisurely mornings. That has been the greatest gift to me this summer. I get up (when I feel like it) and sip on my coffee on the front porch and watch the birds. And I watch my cats watch the birds. They are all really quite entertaining. The hummingbirds are regular visitors now and they get so very worked up about the cats being so close. I think they know that the screen door prevents egress, so they can freely give them a good cursing. At least that is what it sounds like.

Today my favorite birds to watch were the wrens. So quick and their little upright tails make them seem so spunky.  There were quite a few this morning, and I like to think that they are the younglings that were born in the birdhouse hanging from my porch.  The parents as well of course.

What a beautiful way to spend the summer. And what a beautiful gift this job has given me.

Leave a Reply

