• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Bountiful Harvest

I am a novice gardener. Truly I just piddle. I have a few plants, and I aspire for greatness in gardening…well maybe some day. Today I am most excited about what I have reaped from my little garden: two eggplant, a dozen cucumbers, a similar number of cherry tomatoes and one (yes just one) okra pod. Okay, its pretty meager and wouldn’t feed us for a day much less a week…but it is still exciting. One of these days I am going to figure out the timing and the numbers and I am going to strictly get our veggies from our garden. But for now, I am content with the small pickings. On a positive note I do have lots of figs nearing (i hope) ripeness on my fig trees and watermelons on the vine as well as little growing peas in the pod (I just harvested them the other day). I have had two big tomatoes – I didn’t have much luck with my seedling tomatoes this year, so like last year, they aren’t growing as fast as I would like. Oh, and I do have a teeny herb garden with thyme, basil, flat leaf parsley, oregano and some kind of mint (can’t remember what seed that was….). I would love to say that the herbs are doing marvelously – but eh, I will have a few herb nibbles here and there.

fun

Leave a Reply

