• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Glorious Pickles

I am a maker of pickles. Thats right, Pickle Maker. Heavenly cukes transformed into garlicky-dill perfection. Perfect crisp, perfect salty-goodness. I did it. *crunch* and I am in heaven. Way way way better than Vlassic or any other pickle that has ever graced the space between my teeth.

Okay, I must give credit to God of course who created the rain and the sun and the soil and the seed that all came together to make these lovely little cucumbers in my yard that went into the jars and were transformed by my magical solution to become these slices and wedges of sheer joy-creating crunchiness (latter credit going to me of course).

I would also like to give credit to recipe-zaar.com. I love this website and cannot laud it enough. I think…”hmmm, it would seem like I could make pickles in my refrigerator instead of going through all that garbage of boiling, sterilizing and whatever that goes into canning and makes my eyes want to pop out of my head. So, I type “refrigerator pickles” in the search bar on recipezaar and get recipes nearing 100 in number. Of course(!) someone has thought of it before and has the instructions laid out for me. What I most love, is when I want to make something I can read all the numerous recipe and “take what I want and leave the rest” which is how I came up with the concoction that I dunked the cukes in and one week later…voila! pickle perfection.

sigh…*crunch* *trying not to get pickle juice on the keyboard*

Oh, I also made a batch that I put various veggies in AND cayenne pepper. I am waiting on the hubby to try that one first…I am a little afraid.

2 Responses

  1. mmmmm your pickles were so lovely! i can’t wait to make some of my own! when i was a little girl, i was obsessed with pickled pearl onions that my mom made – what kind of little girl is obsessed with pickled onions? this one, apparently.

  2. thank you dearie. I think the kind of girl that is obsessed with pickled onions is the best kind of girl ever. 🙂

Leave a Reply

