• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

amazing cheese

This evening about 6:30 or so, I was watering my garden, getting ready to plant some cheap ‘going out of season’ hostas that I bought yesterday when I was overcome by the number of cherry tomatos that were ripe. What to do? I then noticed that my basil was sufficient to pick for a little sumting.. and what do fresh basil and cherry tomatoes need?? a little olive oil and feta cheese thats what. Wonder of all simple salads.

So I abandoned the hostas and ran like a madwoman (using an automobile of course) to my nearby international market to pick up some feta cheese, of which my cupboard was bare. I have bought some really good feta there that they either get in bulk or its home-made somewhere because it comes in these little containers like you get in a deli. Only these containers were huge…no little ones at all. And I didn’t need two pounds of feta. So instead I opted for the cheaper prepackaged feta of the smaller variety. It was entitled “Greenland Feta Cheese”, one side of the package in English and one side in Arabic. I don’t know if this means it is made in Greenland or if that is just a name (and no i didn’t look to see where it was manufactured). So, what the heck.

OH. MY. GODDESS. This cheese is perfection in a box. Nothing like any other feta that I have ever eaten. Creamy, salty and not as pungent as regular feta. It crumbled some, but when in contact with the little tomato halves its softness became more evident.

Luscious I say. Glad I made the hostas wait.

On another note, I am adding a few books to my list….now.

Leave a Reply

