• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Happy New Year

Well, the year begins anew for those of us in academia anyway. I have been trying to think about something to write this week, but have been feeling generally overwhelmed. Well, that, and I couldn’t think of anything to top or counteract the abysmal darkness of my last post, so I thought I had better leave well enough alone.

So, overwhelmed. That is where I have been and likely where I will be for some time now. I understand why teachers get to have summers off (well many of us anyway) – its to maintain balance. I get all relaxed and feeling good from summer and then mass chaos begins a few weeks before school starts and continues through the next Spring. Christmas break is just enough to hold back ensuing madness, and then Spring starts. Just when you think you can’t take it anymore, Summer – blessed peace is here again to restore and replenish.

I am not sure how replenished I am. More plenishing please. Its also always interesting how my body will say…”hmmm…you need to slow down…whammo!”. I was all caught up in the helter skelter this week (much of it school related and some of it was me just trying to cram in last minute fun-ness before school sucks away my creativity) when suddenly in the middle of it there is this high-pitched ringing noise. I think it is my phone. Then I realize that it is not an external noise, that it is in my head…specifically in my left ear. That was Thursday. Turns out I have problems with my Eustachian tubes – never a good thing, but supposedly a thing that decongestants can fix up. That was Thursday. Now here it is Sunday and the ringing is mostly gone but replaced by a lovely sense of disorientation and dizziness. Lovely I say. No sudden movements for me. So the last few days have been spent entirely on my butt. Can’t get much slower than that. I think my body is telling me that helter skelter (got that song in my head)  is not a good pace for me.

funny the way it is.

Leave a Reply

