• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

General updates

I have had a lot to say at various times this week. Now today, when I actually have some time to sit down and “write” my mind is virtually blank. So I am going to “act as if” I know what I want to write about and just go from there.

School is hectic and makes me tired and I have little left for creativity which makes me sad and that is about all I have to say about that. Well except that it seems funny when I talk about “school” and I feel like I need to clarify that I am not going to school but teaching. Which feels funny because it seems that being a student is a much more natural place for me. Not that I don’t love teaching, I really do. And I am discovering that I am getting better at it and enjoying it more. Amazing what a year of experience will do.

Onward to other topics: I am reading Anna Karrenina and loving it. Lots of plots and themes that weave in and out of the surface plots of love and angst. I am simulataneiously reading The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx. I think this is quite serendipitious, as they are from around the same time and reading the one helps me to better understand the other. The Communist Manifesto is deep and I am only reading a few pages a week. Most of it I don’t understand contextually….it might have helped if I had read more of the introduction, which, by the way, is longer than the actual manifesto. I digress. Anyway the themes of the underdog and the rich suppressing the poor are still relevant today I think. In many cases I am reminded of the current political struggle occurring in our country – the bourgousie in many ways resemble the upper strata die hard republicans of today.  I am half-way through, perhaps I will have more to say when I am finished. It will likely be a while. Likewise with Anna Karrenina, as it is thick and a heavy read. I tend to soar through when reading something I enjoy. In this case that is to my detriment, as I feel I am missing many of the subtle nuances of plot and history that appear as so much background information – but are in reality (I think) truly the story that Tolstoy wishes to portray (class struggles etc). So I wind up re-reading paragraphs quite a bit.

oh well, I suppose I truly have nothing else interesting to say and as I likely haven’t said anything interesting to this point, I should quit before I lose any reader(s) I might have.

Leave a Reply

