• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

The Little Prince

is on its way back to the library in just a few moments. I thought it would be nice to share an idea or two first about this very lovely and incredibly sweet story. I wonder how much the story relates to Antoine de Sant-Exupery’s life…how much he felt like the little boy in the story and/or how much of him was the marooned narrator. Did he have a love like the rose and fail to recognize her worth while they were together? Did he make it back to the rose?

Many many lovely messages in this story…but the primary one I will speak of is how we do so often fail to recognize the value, the beauty, the uniqueness of those in our lives. How often do we cherish special time with friends and loved ones as if it were the only moments we have – fully enjoying them and expressing our love and gratitude for them? Instead are we easily irritated with them when they show us their thorns and fail to recognize their beautiful need?. Then when that together time is over do we lament for what was , or what could have been?

“The Little Prince went to look at the roses again. ‘ You’re nothing at all yet,’ he told them. ‘No one has tamed  you and you haven’t tamed anyone. You’re just the way my fox was. He was just a fox like a hundred thousand others. But I’ve made him my friend, and now he’s the only fox in all the world.’

And the roses were humbled.

‘You’re lovely, but your empty,’ he went on. ‘One couldn’t die for you. Of course, an ordinary passerby would think my rose looked just like you. But my rose, all on her own, is more important than all of you together, since she’s the one I’ve watered….Since she’s the one I amlistened to when she complained, or when she boasted, or even sometimes when she said nothing at all. Since she’s my rose.'”

And then the fox shares a secret: “‘One sees clearly only with the heart. Anything essential is invisible to the eyes.'”

I think that fox is on to something.

Leave a Reply

