• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

glimmer of sun

yes, actually that happened today. Both literally and figuratively. I feel like I am coming over a crest. Not saying that there won’t be another wave, but today I feel an eentsy bit better.

A lot has contributed to this, but the primary factor is that I saw my husband today on Skype. Seeing him and hearing him and resting in his love was so so soothing to my soul. To sound syrupy for a moment longer, he is a balm to my hurtsies.

Another balm for hurtsies is Virginia Woolf. I think I am adding more of her to my 50 list. I am currently reading A Room of One’s Own and it is absolutely sublime. I want to devour each succulent word. savor and yet devour. A Room is an essay on women and fiction -or at least that is the simplest explanation. It truly is so much much more. Oddly enough, or maybe not so oddly, her words are greatly comforting to me right now. She talks about the struggles and barriers experienced by women of prior centuries and of her day(copyright 1929) in expressing their artistic intent. She also carries the reader on these lovely thought spirals…journeys into worlds of thought so vivid, authentic and thought-provoking. It creates a desire in me to write…if only with a fraction of her eloquence…a desire to create…a desire to stand fully in my womanness and rejoice for myself and for all of the women who paved the way for me to stand where I am. sigh.

here are a few quotes from my reading today that I found particularly striking. they are taken out of context but are striking lines that stand alone:

“Lock up your libraries if you like; but there is no gate, no lock, no bolt that you can set upon the freedom of my mind.”

“…we think back through our mothers if we are women.”

“…these are difficult questions which lie in the twilight of the future. I must leave them, if only because they stimulate me to wander from my subject into trackless forests where I shall be lost and, very likely, devoured by wild beasts.”

beautiful, gorgeous, stimulating words.

Leave a Reply

