• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Much to say

I have much to say, which means one of two things…I will either say not much of anything at all because too many random things are bouncing off the walls of my cranium…OR…I will say much, and it may or may not make any sense whatsoever.

To begin: I am reading a lot of very exciting books right now. I think too much. I may need to cut back a bit. This reading can be a little on the addictive side. I finally finished Alice’s Adventures and Through the Looking glass…and I was underimpressed. Alice’s Adventures was pretty good. Some interesting parts that weren’t in the movie I remember. I really loved most of the nonsensical poetry – especially the Walrus and The Carpenter (always has been a fave), and some of the made-up words were fun – but some of it just went on and on and on… Through the looking glass made it ever so clear that the stories about Carroll’s drug use are absolutely true. Absolutely and without a doubt. Honestly I finished reading most of the book over a month ago…and then just let the book just sit forlornly on my nightstand with the last few pages unread….because it was getting quite torturous and I was not fond of either the Red or the White Queen and by the end I mostly just wanted them and Alice to shut their faces. The most enjoyable part of the stories for me, were the lovely illustrations…Alice and the Dodo, the Jabberwocky, The Lobster Quadrille, the Mad Hatter. All quite lovely and familiarly comforting.

Here is a snippet of my favoritist – the Walrus and the Carpenter as told by Tweedledee:

“the sun was shining on the sea, shining with all his might: he did his very best to make the billows smooth and bright – And this was odd, because it was The middle of the night…”

Now, I am also re-reading A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf. I am absolutely in love with Virginia Woolf. Enraptured. Reading it now for bookclub and I can’t wait to talk about it with my favorite ladies. As I have said before, I literally devoured the book at lightening speed before, so I am looking forward to savoring it now.

Reading Nursing by Jean Watson. She is my nursing hero. I find it interesting that a great deal of what I teach is in this text. I have studied her theory and ideas at various times, but not to the depth I would like…but it is oh so obvious how much she has influenced my practice. I am about half-way through this one – which is pretty good considering that I have mostly been reading this one at the gym while on the elliptical machine. It is quite stimulating really. I want to talk about this one more in depth, to better serve my nursing readers…but I will have to cogitate that a bit further.  For now, I will just share a quote that says much:

“A humanistic-altruistic value system is a qualitative philosophy that guides one’s mature life. It is the commitment to and satisfaction of receiving through giving. It involves the capacity to view humanity with love and to appreciate diversity and individuality. Such a value system helps one to tolerate differences and to view others through their own perceptual systems rather than through one’s own”.

I am also reading…rather working through The Artist’s Way. I don’t know how artistic I am becoming but it is so very therapeutic right now during a time when I really need it. This is a recovery workbook, whether you are recovering from being a blocked artist or from grief and loss or Whatever. Cameron’s gentleness and fierceness are beautifully inspiring.

Last but not least, 1984 by George Orwell. It is fascinating, depressing, scary,…well that is all I have to say for now. That and that it is giving me freaky dreams. But I guess that is what I get for reading it before sleep.

Last student is finishing up…so I am too.

Leave a Reply

