• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Whittling down the 50 list

I finished 1984 almost a week ago now and haven’t written about it because I really didn’t like it all that much. Very gloomy and dark. And call me Pollyanna, but I really like books with happy endings. 1984 teases you with the possibility of a happy ending…you can see where something might happen to make the world a better place…but then you realize that there aren’t enough pages left in the book for that to happen and you know that the worst it to come. It is twisted and makes you think…but not about things I really want to think about. Orwell is obviously scared for the future of mankind and expresses this in a most dramatic way. Could we really all be brainwashed? Love of self, love of others, love of autonomy, love of freedom…none of these are enough to overcome Big Brother. Blech. Gloom and doom and a lot of rot that I could spend a bit of time on, but would like to maintain a semblance of my good mood today, so I won’t.

I also finished the Bell Jar. More on that in a bit. I must go run before the day gets too far gone and I come up with any more excuses!

Leave a Reply

