• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

fuschia

The sky was fuschia this morning as I awoke and set about writing my morning pages. I longed for a warm nook and a wide clear window by which to enjoy it. Instead I contented myself with the view from my kitchen window as I sat on my couch nestled in with my pen and journal. The black barren trees came to life against that magnificient backdrop, as if they were only too happy to be once again resplent in color, however fleeting. Fleeting it was, because as I turned my eyes momentarily to my paper and then back to the window, the fuschia became a muted lavender struck through with a pale stormy blue as the sun chased away the last vestiges of night. That winter sun is just a mockery. Not enough to warm. Not enough to lift my spirits today. Rays not strong enough to pull the sleeping sprout from its cold hard bed. I feel gloomy this morning. Perhaps it is the overwhelming amount of work that I need to do as the semester begins. Perhaps it is this damned state of limbo (likely that). Perhaps just that I need to get moving this morning but instead find excuses to linger and draw out in a hapless attempt to elongate the swiftly moving numbers on my kitchen clock. So then, helter skelter I will up and be away, running late as always. At least it gets my blood pumping.

Leave a Reply

