• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Continued careening cogitations

I have been in a flurry since my last post. I have tried to think of other words to describe my state of mind, but flurry just says it all. So many changes happening right now. The day after my last post, we decided firmly to sell our home. Well, I guess we had already made the decision, but we chose a realtor and set a date. April 1st.  Yes folks, that is just mere days away. So I really should be shampooing carpets instead of blogging, but I just had to get a few words down. There is just SO much involved in selling. So much to get ready and prepare. For the past week the house has looked like a tornado swept through, but ever so slowly things are starting to become organized and look better than the place has ever looked (well except for the ripped up tile in the kitchen, but that will be resolved soon hopefully).

In addition to the above stressors (and starting to think about where we are going to move when we leave here because we don’t have the slightest clue), I have been looking and interviewing for new jobs and still training for the 1/2 marathon. So as you can imagine, there is much more to talk about then I even begin to have time for.

The biggest, well maybe most distressing, thing that is on my mind is the very real possibility that I may take a night-shift position again. The mere fact that I am even contemplating it is boggling my mind. My first thoughts when thinking about returning to the graveyard shift, are thoughts of despair. Ugh, can I really put myself through that again, emotionally and physically? Obviously there are a lot of negatives to returning to nights, but in this case the positives heavily outweigh the negatives (even though those negatives pack a major punch). I think the money will be great. I will have scheduling flexibility so I can go back to work on my doctorate AND the organization will pay for said degree. Additionally it will be going back to work in a familiar environment – just in a different capacity. That in itself is a positive – but also carries some heavy and possibly negative punch: I will be supervising people who used to be peers, some of whom have personalities that are….well lets just say…intense.

And the damn rain today is preventing me from my long run. dammit.

One Response

  1. “Intense.” That is such an accurate word for the personalities you may be dealing with. I think one major upside to the proposition of you going back to nights would be that this group of intense personalities would get a major shot of sensibility.

Leave a Reply

