• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

Meaningful Gifts

This weekend I received a surprise package in the mail from a dear friend. I immediately surmised that it was something about my upcoming half-marathon and I felt so touched and loved. This friend really gets how important this race is to me. Maybe it is because she has run several halfs herself. Maybe it is because she has been with me and supported me through this weight-loss/body-image journey of mine, and she knows how monumental this is for me. Whatever the case, I felt like crying as I opened her lovingly packaged gift. Inside were “a few race-day essentials” and a card with a loving note. The outside merely read “13.1”. What a statement! The “race-day essentials” included a few packages of GU, a stick of Body Glide and a athletic Nike cap. Her message to me was of love and support, and said much more than the supportive words on the card. It reminded me that this is a BFD! I think I have been suppressing my excitement and wonder about the fact that I HAVE run FOURTEEN miles and I am going to run in a major race: A HALF-MARATHON! This achievement goes beyond the physical. It shatters so many barriers that I had built to define myself. It is enabling me to find new words to define me: words like athlete, runner, and others. It encourages me to look at other words I have used to limit myself (like “fat”, “lazy” “weak” ) and to challenge them. It also gives me the courage to branch out in other areas of my life where fear and limited self-definitions have held me back.

I think I have been supressing my wonder and excitedment a little because I don’t want to come across as bragging. And I think that people around me probably are a little tired of me talking about my running. I don’t mean it as bragging. I am in amazement at myself. Sometimes I think I need to tell others, to say it out loud so that I believe it myself. My dear friend’s package to me was more than just love and support, it was also a gift of affirmation. Girl, this is a BFD, and it is okay to be proud of myself AND excited about the race!

. Drew from Fleet Feet suggested that on race day I do nothing new. Good advice. So I am off now for a short run to try out my new cap and the body glide (most excited about that stuff – been using vasoline, which is quite gooey). Thanks dear friend.

Leave a Reply

