• Current Reading List

    Peaceful Action, Open Heart - Thich Nhat Hanh*** Eat, Pray, Love*** Peaceful Living - Mary Mackenzie(daily reader)*** The Vein of Gold - Julia Cameron (this is a read a chapter a week type book)*** Dubliners - James Joyce*** Nursing: The Philosophy and Science of Caring - Jean Watson*** The Diary of Virginia Woolf. Volume I***
  • Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I, I took the one less travelled by, and that has made all the difference.

fast thoughts

It always seems that I have the most interesting thoughts about this painting process either during or immediately after the painting. That makes the most sense right. I am also painting when I don’t have much time for anything else, so there I have no time left for blogging. I decided to throw down a few words before I go into work in a few short minutes time. t-2 and counting.

I am in love with mixing colors. I am  feeling most drawn at the moment to purple and orange. They seem to be slightly more difficult shades to perfect, and I am delighted with the outcomes of mixing a little red, a little blue, a dash of white and getting these vibrant colors. Before I signed up for the class, I had previously purchased some cheap acrylics in various shades – tan, orange, pink, brown. I have used them only very rarely, and I fear that they will dry up in their little plastic bottles while I run through bottles and bottles of primary colors and white and black. The possibilities are endless and I am in love with the process. Once again it is about letting go of the outcome. I know that if I mix red and blue I am going to get a purple – but it all depends on whim as to what shade I get…too dark…add a little white…too pale, hmmm, lets add in some blue and so the process goes. Sometimes I get just the shade I want – or rather I fall in love with the outcome. Sometimes I need to work at it a little. So what if I mixed too much. Sometimes my frugal side has me use up the extra on another canvas’ background. Sometimes, as right now, it just sits on the palate (fancy christmas paper plates) and dries. Othertimes I am uncertain about the color, so I slap it on the canvas anyway because I now know that if I don’t like it, I can always layer over it. Nothing is set in stone.

Who knew?

Leave a Reply

